Skip to Main Content

Advising

General Information

Main Location: Public Policy Building, Room 226

Once admitted into the Master’s Program in Applied Sociology, the student will be assigned to a faculty advisor and will receive updates regarding the major via email. To determine who your faculty advisor is or for general questions on the Master’s Program in Applied Sociology, please contact Faith Dinh, 410-455-3365, fdinh1@umbc.edu.

At any point in the semester students can email their advisor directly or arrange a meeting to discuss questions about the program or their academic plan. Contact information for department advisors is listed below.

Advanced Registration Advising

The Department and University send important email communication regarding advanced registration advising each semester.  This includes the date/time at which students can begin registration and notifications of advanced registration appointments. It is important to read such correspondence as the instructions can directly impact your ability to register for classes.

Although graduate students are not required to meet with their advisor each semester, it is highly recommended that they touch base with their advisor to review their progress toward fulfilling the program requirements.

How to Sign Up for an Advanced Registration Advising Appointment:

All current students have an assigned faculty advisor.

  • In the weeks prior to advanced registration your advisor will send an email with instructions for setting up an advising appointment. Many Department faculty use Google Calendar for advising appointments.
  • Access your advisor’s calendar from your UMBC Gmail account. This allows us to identify your name and academic record in order to prepare for the advising session.
  • If you need to cancel your appointment, please be sure to email your advisor directly – the Google system does not notify the faculty member if you need to cancel.

Prior to setting up an appointment, make sure that your Google Calendar is set to Eastern Standard Time!

Applied Sociology Faculty Advisors

Dr. Marina Adler, Professor & Graduate Program Director
adler@umbc.edu
410-455-3155
PUP 232

Dr. Bambi Chapin, Associate Professor & Undergraduate Program Director (ANTH)
bchapin@umbc.edu
410-455-2082
PUP 211

Dr. Sarah Chard, Associate Professor & Associate Chair
schard@umbc.edu
410-455-3380
PUP 213

Dr. Nicole Cousin-Gossett, Senior Lecturer
cgossett@umbc.edu
410-455-6330
PUP 215

Dr. Kevin Eckert, Professor, Department Chair & Undergraduate Program Director (HAPP)
eckert@umbc.edu
410-455-5698
PUP 225

Dr. Brandy Harris-Wallace, Assistant Professor & Undergraduate Program Co-Director (SOCY)
bhwalla@umbc.edu
410-455-5815
PUP 229

Dr. Loren Henderson, Assistant Professor
loren@umbc.edu
410-455-2087
PUP 231

Dr. Christine Mair, Assistant Professor & Undergraduate Program Co-Director (SOCY)
christine_mair@umbc.edu
410-455-8064
PUP 230

Dr. Leslie Morgan, Professor Emeritus
lmorgan@umbc.edu

Dr. William Rothstein, Professor Emeritus
rothstei@umbc.edu

Dr. Bob Rubinstein, Professor
rrubinst@umbc.edu
410-455-2059
PUP 214

Dr. John Schumacher, Associate Professor
jschuma@umbc.edu
410-455-3184
PUP 217

Dr. Dena Smith, Assistant Professor
dtsmith@umbc.edu
410-455-2078
PUP 224